Morocco to Spain: Thoughts While Traveling Between Two Cities

As I’m preparing this blog post, I’m on a train from Rabat to Tangier – which is a budding industrial port in Morocco. I’m so excited because I’ve been on a journey that has been so incredible and I’m doing new things that I would normally shy away from because I’m really a big scaredy cat.

I’m scared when I don’t plan the details. For those of you who know me personally, the planning statement is not a joke. My calendar is carefully color coded. But honestly, this trip to Spain could be a big mess. Only 1/4 of the details are certain. My arrival in Tarifa is certain (God willing). The hostel that I have a reservation for is certain. How I’m arriving to the hostel from port that I will most likely be taken to is not as certain. I’m hoping there are taxis everywhere.

I also need to exchange money into Euros, but that’s another story.

But that’s just the thing. I can try to plan every detail, but I’m learning on this journey to put some trust in myself and my ability to use my resources, trust in my roommate and her travel solo experiences, and most of all trust completely in God. He knows the details I don’t know and I’ve seen it over and over again on this trip. There were times that I didn’t know the answer or what the question was for that matter (Can you say it in Anglais?). But God provided the right person, the answer, the right Arabic word at just the right time and even the most bizarre moments turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

I think I’m ready for Spain. And I promise, I’ll figure out a way to get to the Madrid airport by next week – just in case you’re reading this mom.

Also, can someone tell me who is picking me up at the airport? I’ll be at DCA 🙂

Until next time…

Natalie

Leave a comment